Adams and Muhly

Nico Muhly

Nico Muhly

Colin Currie percussion
Alexandre Esperet (Winner of 2012 TROMP Percussion Competition) percussion
Thomas Gould violin
Clark Rundell conductor

John Adams Shaker Loops
Nico Muhly Seeing is Believing
Nico Muhly Double Percussion Concerto
John Adams Chamber Symphony

Rhythms, loops and electronic fusions combine in this programme celebrating American minimalism and cross-genre inventiveness. Showcasing his highly musical and energetic style, percussionist Colin Currie performs the UK première of Nico Muhly’s Double Percussion Concerto. Entitled Double Standard the percussion concerto also features Alexandre Esperet, the winner of the 2012 International TROMP Percussion Competition. Muhly’s concerto for electric violin Seeing is Believing is also a showcase for its dedicatee, Britten Sinfonia leader, Thomas Gould.  Opening the concert is John Adams’ rippling Shaker Loops and flamboyant, cartoon music inspired Chamber Symphony.

Pre-concert event - 6.30pm (Cambridge only)
Music students from Parkside Federation Academies take charge of our pre-concert slot, presenting a mix of chat with soloist Colin Currie and original compositions inspired by Muhly and Adams. 


Britten Sinfonia logo