Britten Sinfonia At Lunch 3 2012-13

Britten Sinfonia players (c) Harry Rankin

Britten Sinfonia players (c) Harry Rankin

Thomas Gould, Miranda Dale violins
Clare Finnimore viola
Caroline Dearnley cello
Alasdair Beatson piano

Copland Vitebsk
Shostakovich Two Pieces for String Quartet (Elegy & Polka)
Britten Reflection
Jay Greenberg Kandinskiana (World première tour)*
(Winner of 2012 University of Cambridge Composers' Workshop)
Britten Three Divertimenti

Two of Britten’s most admired composers and contemporaries feature in this vibrant programme with stage and dance connections. Copland’s Vitebsk takes inspiration from a Jewish folk theme by playwright Ansky while Britten’s Three Divertimenti, with its charming waltz, took its original subtitle from Shakespeare.  Shostakovich’s Two Pieces is best known as music from his opera Lady Macbeth and ballet The Age of Gold.  Completing the programme is a new work by the winner of the University of Cambridge Composer Workshop 2012, Jay Greenberg.

*co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and Britten Sinfonia



Britten Sinfonia logo