Seven Last Words from the Cross - Britten Sinfonia

Seven Last Words from the Cross

Birmingham Cambridge London
20 – 25 Mar 2016


Miserere Mei

Shostakovich arr. barshai

Chamber Symphony


Cantata 'O Jesu Christ, Mein's Lebens Licht'

James MacMillan

Seven Last Words from the Cross

(c) Ben Ealovega


With James MacMillan’s dramatic meditation on Christ’s final words, Seven Last Words from the Cross, at its heart, Britten Sinfonia’s moving celebration of Easter features exquisite music from four centuries.

Byrd’s melancholic Miserere Mei, JS Bach’s grave-side Cantata ‘O Jesu, mein Leben Licht’ and Barshai’s orchestral arrangement of Shostakovich’s searing eighth string quartet complete the contemplative programme, with Britten Sinfonia Voices and Britten Sinfonia conducted by Eamonn Dougan.

Related News / Blog